Share |

We Are The Champions

Scecina’s Academic Super Bowl team with

the ICC championship trophy

Scecina’s Academic Super Bowl team won the Indiana Crossroads Conference Academic Super Bowl championship March 11 at Cardinal Ritter High School, recapturing the trophy they last won in 2012.

The theme this year is "The Grandeur That Was Rome." The teams form small teams, which compete in these subjects: Math, English, Science, Fine Arts, Social Studies and Interdisciplinary.

Scecina’s Academic Super Bowl team members are: seniors Connor Griffin, Bo Lesczynski, Caroline Sausser and Nick Sitzman; juniors Zach Burck; Corrine Maue, Maggie Mayer, Jenna Nosek, Ria Rebein, Denni Riley and Josh Sitzman; and sophomores Jonathan Card, Will Ferree, Michael Rosswurm and Nate Smith.

Science teacher Sarah Smith is the moderator along with Ka’lena Cuevas, English; Elijah Sanders, Social Studies; and Elizabeth Williams, Math.

Scecina competed in the ICC Championship with Cardinal Ritter, Beech Grove, Speedway, Lutheran and Triton Central high schools.

The team has more competition ahead. They head to Shelbyville in April for the state area competition. Teams that place in the top six statewide move on to the state finals at Purdue University.

Academic Super Bowl is a program of the Indiana Association of School Principals. For more information, check out:

Learn more about Scecina’s Academic Super Bowl team at

1 comment (Add your own)

1. Alyssa Chase wrote:
So proud of these kids!

Tue, March 17, 2015 @ 8:15 AM

Add a New Comment


Comment Guidelines: No HTML is allowed. Off-topic or inappropriate comments will be edited or deleted. Thanks.